Blickachsen Foundation

(Stiftung Blickachsen gGmbH)


Every two years since 1997, the Blickachsen exhibitions focus attention on an interplay between contemporary art, nature and the public space. Each time, the aim is to show works by both talented young artists as well as by renowned sculptors. And the collaboration, each time, with a different co-curating partner museum guarantees ever new impulses.

At the beginning, there was a single exhibition in the Bad Homburg Kurpark, with its concept of physically – and figuratively – taking up the landscaped sight lines (Blickachsen) of the park’s garden architecture. This basic idea has successfully proved itself over the last twenty years: Blickachsen has in the meantime expanded into much of the Rhine-Main region and now ranks as one of the leading exhibitions of modern and contemporary sculpture in Germany.

The public benefit Blickachsen Foundation, with its seat in Bad Homburg, was established in March 2013 to oversee the Blickachsen Sculpture Biennale, which it organizes together with the municipality of Bad Homburg, the Kur- und Kongreß-GmbH and the Administration of Public Stately Homes and Gardens in Hessen.

The foundation’s aim is to secure the long-term future of the Biennale, and to provide access to contemporary sculpture and art installations to an ever-growing audience in the public space. At the same time, the foundation seeks to promote the evolving cultural attraction of the city of Bad Homburg and the further Rhine-Main region, and to establish the region over time as an international centre for contemporary sculpture.

In offering, every two years, a platform for exhibiting the work of both young and established artists from around the world, the foundation seeks both to promote emerging artistic talent, and to heighten popular interest in and appreciation of the most varied currents in three-dimensional art.

A lively encounter with contemporary sculpture is stimulated by the diverse range of Blickachsen tours and workshops for children, young people and adults. In addition, the foundation sees itself as a mediator and point of intersection between cultural and educational institutions, supporting the dialogue between artists and museums, as well as between art and scholarship.

 

Founder and curator of Blickachsen,
Director of the Blickachsen Foundation:
Christian K. Scheffel

Blickachsen Foundation Board of Trustees:
Stefan Quandt, Chairman
Dr. Beate Schuler, Vice Chairman
Hans-Joachim Kleinert
Dr. Karsten Müller-Eising
Thomas Rodermann

Stiftung Blickachsen

Stiftung Blickachsen gGmbH

Seit 1997 richten die "Blickachsen"-Ausstellungen das Augenmerk alle zwei Jahre auf das Zusammenspiel von zeitgenössischer Kunst, Natur und öffentlichem Raum. Und jedes Mal – auch das ist Programm – sind talentierte Nachwuchskünstler gemeinsam mit namhaften Bildhauern vertreten. Die Zusammenarbeit mit wechselnden Partnermuseen garantiert dabei stets neue Impulse.

Am Anfang der Reihe stand eine Ausstellung im Bad Homburger Kurpark, deren Konzept – auch im übertragenen Sinn – die gartenarchitektonischen Blickachsen des Parks aufnahm. Diese Grundidee hat sich in den vergangenen zwanzig Jahren aufs Beste bewährt: Die "Blickachsen" wurden inzwischen auf die Region ausgeweitet und zählen heute zu den großen periodischen Kunstereignissen in Deutschland.

Die gemeinnützige Stiftung Blickachsen mit Sitz in Bad Homburg richtet die Skulpturenbiennale „Blickachsen“ aus, die sie gemeinsam mit dem Magistrat der Stadt Bad Homburg, der Kur- und Kongreß-GmbH und der Verwaltung der Staatlichen Schlösser und Gärten Hessen veranstaltet.

Die Stiftung wurde im März 2013 mit dem Ziel gegründet, die „Blickachsen“-Biennale institutionell zu sichern und im öffentlichen und öffentlich zugänglichen Raum weiteren Bevölkerungskreisen einen Zugang zu zeitgenössischer Skulptur und Installationskunst zu vermitteln. Zugleich ist es der Stiftung ein Anliegen, die historisch gewachsene kulturelle Attraktivität der Stadt Bad Homburg und der Rhein-Main-Region weithin sichtbar zu machen.

Sie ist bestrebt, die Region auch langfristig als Zentrum der zeitgenössischen Skulptur mit internationaler Strahlkraft zu etablieren, das im Zweijahresrhythmus jungen gemeinsam mit arrivierten Künstlerinnen und Künstlern aus der ganzen Welt eine Plattform bietet. Dadurch sollen sowohl das allgemeine Interesse und Verständnis für die verschiedensten Positionen der dreidimensionalen Kunst und deren Wertschätzung gesteigert als auch der künstlerische Nachwuchs gefördert werden.

Eine lebendige Begegnung mit zeitgenössischer Skulptur wird durch das vielfältige Angebot an „Blickachsen“-Führungen und Workshops für Kinder, Jugendliche und Erwachsene angeregt. Darüber hinaus versteht sich die Stiftung als Schnittstelle und Vermittlerin zwischen den Kultur- und Bildungseinrichtungen, sie fördert den Dialog von Künstlern und Museen ebenso wie von Kunst und Wissenschaft.

 

Stiftung Blickachsen