Municipal authorities of the City of Bad Homburg


When curator Christian Scheffel first placed contemporary art in the Bad Homburg Kurpark in 1997, he provoked an enormous response. Today, the Blickachsen Biennale has expanded to include several additional venues in the Rhine-Main region, and it now attracts an international audience. Yet the effect is the same as it was 20 years ago: an appreciation and public discussion of sculpture.

For 20 years Bad Homburg’s historic Kurpark, and later also its Schlosspark, have showcased the city as exhibition sites for this international artistic event. We are proud of this and look very much forward to welcoming guests from all over the world to Bad Homburg.

On behalf of the city I would like to thank all those involved, and particularly Christian Scheffel and this year’s partner museum, the Museum Liaunig in Austria, for their carefully considered choice of artworks and locations. My thanks, also, go to all supporters, without whom this exhibition would not have been possible. To all visitors I wish a stimulating encounter with contemporary art.

Alexander W. Hetjes
Mayor of Bad Homburg v.d.Höhe

Magistrat der Stadt Bad Homburg v.d.Höhe

Magistrat der Stadt Bad Homburg v.d.Höhe


Als Kurator Christian Scheffel 1997 erstmals zeitgenössische Kunst im Bad Homburger Kurpark platzierte, löste er ein enormes Echo aus. Heute hat die Biennale weitere Standorte in der Rhein-Main-Region. Sie erreicht ein internationales Publikum. Doch der Effekt ist derselbe wie vor 20 Jahren: Bildhauerei wird wahrgenommen und öffentlich diskutiert.

Bad Homburg ist seit 20 Jahren mit dem historischen Kurpark und inzwischen auch mit dem Schlosspark als „Ausstellungsraum“ bei diesem internationalen Kunstereignis vertreten. Wir sind stolz darauf und freuen uns sehr, Gäste aus aller Welt in Bad Homburg zu Gast zu haben.

Ich danke im Namen der Stadt allen Beteiligten, besonders Herrn Christian Scheffel und dem diesjährigen Partnermuseum, dem österreichischen Museum Liaunig, für die sorgfältige Arbeit bei der Auswahl der Kunstwerke und der Standorte. Mein Dank gilt allen Unterstützern, ohne die diese Ausstellung nicht möglich wäre. Den Besucherinnen und Besuchern wünsche ich eine reizvolle Begegnung mit zeitgenössischer Kunst.

Alexander W. Hetjes
Oberbürgermeister Bad Homburg v.d.Höhe

Magistrat der Stadt Bad Homburg v.d.Höhe